Downed Emergency Services

911….911… no connection…help is not coming…

Wednesday night (03-08-17) was a wake up call, AT&T 911 services were down. What would happen if they never came back up? You dial 911 and nothing; what would you do? How would you get the help you need?

I know my family will be protected. I am a firm believer of the 2nd amendment. People have the right to bear arms to protect them and theirs. You always hear in the news the bad side of gun ownership. Why? When someone is responsible and defends their loved ones or property, the story is barely covered. When a criminal uses a gun in an illegal act, then guns have no right in the hands of civilians. You take the guns out of the hands of responsible Americans, the rest of your civil liberties will follow. You take the guns out of the hands of criminals, they just find more.

Civil unrest is all around us. In the near future, it will turn violent. With the Democrats not showing up to the inauguration, Super Bowl champions not visiting the White House, and people blackballing the First Lady’s clothing line, we are witnessing the start. The Republicans and Trump are not making it any easier. Does slandering Obama and starting rumors about wire taping Trump is pretty disappointing? I don’t really associate with either side, just glad to be a Texan. Protect the family and the ‘Republic’ at all cost. I will not go any further on political views.

I have watched a documentary (numerous times) on YouTube by NatGeo called “After Armageddon.” Its a pretty good mock collapse of society based on a super virus spreading, starting in California. LA County has approximately 25,000 hospital beds for a regional population of 10 million. If a pandemic breaks out, the medical services will be overloaded and completely shutdown. Could this really happen? Last pandemic was the Spanish Flu in 1918. Its been 100 years and we have come to a point where we believe we are immune and nothing will bring us down. One day, our kryptonite will bring us to the realization we are not a superior race and mother nature will always win.

This brings me back to the 911 outage. Could it have been a test on the system? Could it be a cyber attack? When my wife mentioned it, I wasn’t paying attention to the news or the posts on Facebook. After hearing the news, I reacted as could this be a drill or is this, in fact, the start of the collapse? Either way, I feel like I am not as prepared as I should be. I know my family will not stay at our current home during the collapse. We have a river within a mile of the house, rain catchment system, the start of a garden, but also 10,000 neighbors. When most people don’t prepare, they will hunt for supplies. I know some experts say you should include your neighbors in your prepping, but I don’t even know most of my neighbors.

Knowledge is the first line of defense in an emergency situation. I am CPR and basic first aid certified, but I need more training. I believe I am well versed in making do with what I have and what I can find. I have a desire to learn more to be able to protect my family and provide for my family if ever an event should arise. This will be my survival multiplier. I will discuss what a survival multiplier is in a later post.

Thank you.

If we are like-minded, please subscribe by email (to the right) to my blog.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

