Garden 2017: Preparation Update

Seedlings are looking good. I have cucumbers, zucchini, 2 types of squash that will probably be put out into the garden this weekend. This past weekend, I built my raised rows, put in my fence for trellises, and planted my onions and the rest of my potatoes. I have 2 potato beds that I will be growing vertically. I have never done potatoes, so this should be interesting.

My mother-in-law was over for Saturday and wanting to know what I used as fertilizer last year (since she was jealous with the harvest). I said nothing, which was true. I burned some yard waste over the garden area and tilled in the ash but other than that, nothing. I have pictures of worms found in my garden, and they are MASSIVE.  She brought me 2 bags of rabbit droppings to add to my compost. I used one bag in the compost, and will use some of the other bag to fertilize around the peppers, corn and tomatoes. I didn’t do so well with peppers last year, hopefully they will yield this year.

I see the corn farmers about to start sowing, so I will get my corn going this weekend as well. I will soak them first and let them plump back up so they will be ready to plant. I will also do this with my green beans and okra. Letting them get that first little root to grow will help.

Next Post, I will have pictures of the garden.

If you like my posts, please follow. If you have any helpful hints or comments, please leave them in the comment section.

Thank you,

Richard

Leave a Reply

