Dinner Table Build

 

My wife wanted a round table to go in our newly refreshed kitchen. My wife wanted a table that would match our countertops without taking too much room in the kitchen. I scavenged wood from new home work sites. I always ask if I can take wood, which most will say yes.

The base was ripped down from 2×8’s. The pedestal was made from 4 2×8’s ripped down and screwed together. I braced the hollow center with square discs to keep it rigid.

The top was ripped down from 2×6’s and attached with wooden dowels and TiteBond III. I use this glue anytime I am gluing up projects to keep from having multiple glue bottles opened, even if waterproof glue is not needed. I used a circular saw to rough cut the top. Then set up a jig on the table saw to finish the round top. The top measures 42″.  I could buy a 3 foot roundtop or a 4 foot roundtop from our local Lowes Home Improvement, but it was either too small or too big. 42″ is just right. I used a planer to smooth out the rough surface of each board. I then used 80, 120, and 220 grit sandpaper to get it to a dining room table to a quality finish. I later stained it with dark walnut and put a polyurethane coat on it. The base is white-washed. I may go back and just paint it white to match our cabinets.

For my first furniture grade table, I think it turned out quite beautiful. Leave a comment on what you think.

One thought on “Dinner Table Build”

Leave a Reply

